Roo's Casa


Pillow Cases for Cheap
October 25, 2011, 2:38 am
Filed under: House Stuff, Sewing

We were in desperate need of pillow cases.  I bought a set of full sheets on sale that came with two pillow cases.  Then I took the top flat sheet and made 5 pillow cases from that.  I used the measurements from the pillow cases we had to make the new ones, adding a half-inch seam allowance.  The last pillow case is much more narrow than the others, but we do have feather pillows that would work with that.  I ended up saving the bottom fitted sheet for one of my kids’ bed since they could always use an extra sheet.

*The measurements I used were 20.25 inches x 32 inches.  This with a half inch seam allowance make pillow cases that were 19.25×31 inches finished.  When the pillow case ended up being on the fold, I just left the fold in place and took off a half inch so that I didn’t have to sew that third side.  Also, depending on how you do your cuts, there might be two cases that don’t have a finished edge, so add more length to do a small seam at the top.  With most of my cases there was a finished edge already in place to use.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

