Roo's Casa


Countdown Blocks
December 13, 2010, 1:54 am
Filed under: Advent Calendar, Christmas, Crafts
I love to have countdowns and advent calendars for the holidays, so when I saw these blocks I just had to make them.
1.  Pick 6-12 of your favorite holiday scrapbooking papers. Cut them to the size of 3×3 inches.  I did 6 different papers twice (one per block).
2.  Cut out your numbers: 0,1,2,3,4,5 for the left side block and 0, 1, 2, 6, 7, 8 for the right side block.  The 6 will work as a 9, so be sure to place it on paper that can be flipped.
3.  Cut your blocks to a 4×4 size.  I used some wood that is used for fence posts.  They weren’t exactly 4×4, but close enough.
4. Sand your blocks and paint using craft acrylic paint.
5.  Modge Podge each paper square to the sides of your blocks.  ( I used satin finish Modge Podge)

6.  Modge Podge the numbers to each side.
7. Modge Podge over the numbers and paper. I did 4 layers.
8.  Seal with some clear sealer.  ( On the back of the Modge Podge it recommends some spray sealer, but I didn’t want to use something toxic. I went with a clear paint on sealer by DecoArt. I am not sure yet how it holds up.  I do notice some slight stickiness.  )
9.  For the bottom base I cut some board to the size of my blocks.  I also painted that and Modge Podged on a strip of paper that says “Days ‘Till Christmas” that was printed from  the computer.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

