Roo's Casa


Chocolate Heath Bar Pie
November 25, 2009, 8:19 pm
Filed under: Recipes

This is one of my favorite pie recipes to make.  I have adapted the recipe from the Mrs. Fields’, I Love Chocolate Cookbook.  This year I am making this for my son’s birthday and Thanksgiving.  

1 1/2 cups Oreos crushed- I use the fake Oreos from Whole Foods, using the center and all. It ends up being 15 cookies.

5 tablespoons butter, melted

1 tablespoon sugar- I use less than the original recipe since I keep the centers in the cookies.

Mix up all of the above and press into a pie pan. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes. 

6 ounces milk chocolate ( I used Hershey’s chocolate chips, next time I will use a different kind of brand of chocolate since these made it a little bit too sweet)

3/4 cup half and half

8 oz. cream cheese

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla

3/4 cup Heath bar chunks ( you can buy a bag of these or break up your own using candy bars)

Melt the chocolate over a double broiler or in the microwave. Warm up 1/2 cup of half and half and then add to the chocolate and stir.  In another bowl mix up the cream cheese, brown sugar, vanilla, 1/4 cup half and half until mixed well.  Add the chocolate mixture and blend again.  Add in 1/2 cup of the Heath bar pieces. Place into the cooled pie crust and top with more Heath bar pieces. You can use whatever is left or less if desired.  Cool the pie in the refrigerator at least 2 hours.  I like to make it the day before so that the flavors blend a little more.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

