Roo's Casa


Practice Thanksgiving Feast
November 9, 2009, 12:08 am
Filed under: Fall, Family, Holidays, Recipes, Thanksgiving

feast

Since my mom always cooks the Thanksgiving meal, I thought I would give it a try on my own this weekend.  Instead of a big turkey I made a chicken, so I will have to try the big turkey some day. Right now it is just too intimidating and expensive.  I made all of our usual Thanksgiving sides though and boy was it hard to juggle all of the different times and oven temperatures. I sure have a new appreciation for all of the work that goes into this wonderful meal. Here are the recipes I made:

Chicken from Allrecipes.com. This chicken cooked quickly and was tasty.  

Mashed potatoes- just regular potatoes. Next time I will try the garlic mashed potatoes.

Sweet Potato Casserole– my sister makes this casserole every year and it is my favorite dish by far.  The kids really liked it too.

Green Bean Casserole– this recipe is adapted from Cook’s Illustrated.  I have made it according to the website I found it on and found that I still like my green bean casserole like the one on the cream of mushroom can. So, I make the creamy mushroom sauce according to the website above, but I use canned green beans and just the fried onions that come in the can like the regular recipe states. So basically I just use this recipe for the cream of mushroom sauce since I don’t like the ingredients used in the can.  This was very good as well.

Poultry Stuffing– I found this stuffing on a bulletin board and you can find it by clicking on the link and going to #26.  We like this stuffing a lot.  I also left out the sausage. 

Pumpkin Pie– I made the Canadian Living recipe.  

Fresh Bread from Safeway

Eggnog from Kroger- I will not buy Kroger eggnog again.  It was too watered down. 

I still need to figure out how to make gravy.

I didn’t make the cranberry sauce, but my sister-in-law makes a great one found on Food Network.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

