Roo's Casa


Strawberry Shortcakes
June 8, 2009, 2:12 am
Filed under: Books, Educational Stuff, Kids, Recipes



Frank checked outCook-a-Doodle-Doofrom the library and then begged me to make a strawberry shortcake. There is a recipe at the back, but I decided to try one fromEpicurious. I cut the cake recipe in half because I was short 1 TBS. of butter. I also chose not to cook the strawberries as the recipe states because we ended up spending $10 on one pound of strawberries! I didn’t want to mess them up by cooking them and maybe making them too sweet. The cake was delicious with just the base, some sliced strawberries, whipped cream, and then another layer of strawberries. I had sweetened the whipped cream a lot too so I am glad we decided to skip the glaze. 

For the whipped cream, I whipped 1/2 cup of cream, 1/4 tsp. vanilla, and 2 TBS. of sugar. Next time I will cut down on some of the sugar. I love it sweet, but that was just a tad too much.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

