Roo's Casa


Flag Banner
June 8, 2009, 3:57 am
Filed under: Crafts, Holidays, July 4th, Summer


I made this flag banner for the Fourth of July.  This side has patriotic fabrics and the back has birthday fabrics.  I plan to put letters on the other side to spell out Happy Birthday.  Here is how I made it:

1. Buy 10 inches of 4 different fabrics.
2.  Make a template that is 6 across the top and 8 inches down.  
3. Trace the template onto your fabrics.
4.  I pinned another fabric under each fabric and then cut out two triangles at once.  Make sure you have wrong sides facing each other so that the pretty sides are facing out.
5.  I marked a dot down from the top of the flag at about 7 1/4 inch.  Then I sewed starting from the top edge down towards the point using a 3/8 seam.  I stopped at the dot and then turned the flag the other direction and finished sewing up.  
6.  Then I used pinking shears to cut along the edges.  
7.  Finally, I bought some red bias tape and placed each flag inside the fold and then sewed it shut.  Make sure to leave a  little extra bias tape at each end so that you can tie up your flags.  
* I also put some interfacing in the middle since I didn’t want the other side to show through.  I don’t know if it really made a difference though.  
I need to make more of these to finish the stairs.  I wasn’t planning on putting them there, but I kind of like them like this.  Mine are also two different sizes because on the other side they will say Happy on one and Birthday on the other.  I thought it was too long to make it one long one.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

