Roo's Casa


Family Christmas 2008
December 26, 2008, 2:23 am
Filed under: Christmas, Holidays, Recipes, Winter


Today was our big Christmas family party. My sister makes the BEST food. It is a meal I look forward to all year. She makes a really good pork roast with cherry sauce and onion sauce, chateau potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower dish, and rolls. We had tons of desserts this year too. We had banana and coconut pie, pumpkin pie, two kinds of fudge, and Christmas white chocolate stuff. It was excellent. I forgot to take a picture of the table setting this year and wish that I had so that we can remember what to do next year since it all worked so well. Of course family drama brought the night to a not so nice ending. I always hope for better the next year. 

(for Joy to remember: you pushed the dining table against the window with your nutcrackers at the end with the blocks and then set all the chairs around the rest of the table. The kids had their own fancy table set by Princess.)

I also wanted to post these Oreo balls recipe. They have rave reviews all over the Internet, but nobody really touched them at my gatherings. It could be that I used semi-sweet chocolate instead of milk or white. I won’t be repeating them. Next year I plan to make my bruschetta as usual and then some empanadas that are in the frozen section at the store. I had them at a Spanish class and they were so delicious. I think my brother-in-law would love them too. 

Oreo Balls
Mix 8 oz. cream cheese with 10 oz. of Oreos that have been cut into 4 pieces each. Let the mixture sit a few hours or overnight. It will look very brown in color. Roll the mixture into little balls. I used 1/2 tbsp. for each ball. Freeze the balls for about an hour. Lastly, roll the balls into melted chocolate. Store the balls in the refrigerator until they harden.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

